• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding the four corners area and beyond- Spring/Summer 2013 (1 Viewer)

ovenbird43

United States
At long last, I finished my PhD and landed a job: 1-2 years as a postdoctoral researcher for the University of Arizona. I'll be spending this summer based in Dolores, SW Colorado, doing research on 5 different bird projects. I'll use this space to post general birding comments about the area, probably some photos of mist-netted birds, and descriptions of birding farther afield on our days off.

We're already over a week into work, we started out by stopping at our study sites near Walnut Canyon (just outside Flagstaff, AZ) on our way up from Tucson. This is an area of pinyon-juniper forest, where the pinyon is just coming back after beyond knocked out by drought. A nice flock of Pinyon Jays included some noisy juveniles, a good sign that the forest is recovering.