• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Question about a bird (1 Viewer)

birdnewbie

I have a question about a bird I spotted in a lagoon like area on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. I am new at spotting birds and happened to choose a woefully inadequate field guide to try and identify this bird. I am currently taking a Vertebrate Zoology class in college and have a field journal due tommorrow before the exam so any help in identifying this bird would be greatly appreciated. (The sooner the better)
Thanks so much!

Attachments

• the bird.jpg
    the bird.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 175
Hi, Birdnewbie! A warm welcome to you from all of us on staff here at BirdForum!

I'll leave the definite ID to others, but it looks to me like a Green Heron.

Good luck with your studies! :t:

birdnewbie said:
I have a question about a bird I spotted in a lagoon like area on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. I am new at spotting birds and happened to choose a woefully inadequate field guide to try and identify this bird. I am currently taking a Vertebrate Zoology class in college and have a field journal due tommorrow before the exam so any help in identifying this bird would be greatly appreciated. (The sooner the better)
Thanks so much!
This would be the Green Heron. I remember how happy I was when I first spotted this colorful heron.

Just woundered

I took this photo from the kitchen window. How unusual are Blackbirds with white tail feathers Ian