• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Colour distortion and supernatural views? (1 Viewer)

typo

Apologies for some rather geeky questions that have been bugging me for a while. Do some binocular designs deliberately incorporate chromatic and other distortions to enhance the performance for certain applications? If so how do they do it?

I'm no expert here, but occasionally I pick up a pair of bins that stand out as having 'super-natural' quality. An enhanced contrast, vivid colours, and a sculptural quality to the subject in view. Definitely a wow factor. Appealing to me for sure, but at least in mid range bins, I've noted these can go hand in hand with negative features as well. One pair that springs to mind is the Zeiss Conquest 10x30. For the rendition of surface textures, and vibrancy of primary colours, I've yet to see better. But, for me it has the worst colour fringing I've seen, poor detail in greys and muddy colours and a surprising amount of edge distortion (if I remember correctly)..... Are these designed for horse racing for example? Compare and contrast the old Nikon Monarchs. I would suggest technically more accurate by most measurements, but for me, a rather dull view.... Would these be for hunting?