• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

wader confirmation please (1 Viewer)

Woody

Hi all,

At Oare marshes on sunday I spotted this guy having a snooze. I thought greenshank (as Robin will know!) but I'm a wader beginner so I looked it up at home. I still think greenshank but what bothered me slightly was the brown appearance. I'm assuming this means that this is a juvenile, but I'd appreciate a confirmation. Thanks in advance. Sorry about the pic quality, it was pretty windy and the bird was quite a way away.

Woody

Attachments

• grnshnk.JPG
    grnshnk.JPG
    110.6 KB · Views: 220
Hi Woody,
This is indeed a Greenshank,but a summer adult,with the plumage being a bit worn by now(as is typical for adult waders at this time of year).In most migrant waders,adults migrate south before juveniles,and certainly the majority of the waders that I've seen recently are adult birds(juvs limited to a Ringed Plover that was probably locally bred at the site at which I had it).A juvenile would be altogether more 'pristine',with fresh feathers(which is logical,as these have only just been attained,whereas adult birds will have been in breeding plumage for a few months).
Hope this helps?
Harry

Thanks chaps.

It's nice to know I got it mostly right!
In one of my books it does say that juveniles will have a 'neat' pattern but unless you actually see what the book's on about things like that are a bit vague. I'll try to start noting details like feather condition, another lesson learned!

Cheers
Woody

robinm said: