• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Barn Owls (1 Viewer)

Pete666

smart alec van driver
Hi all
We all know how the UK motorway network has provided habitat and food for the Kestrel and I wonder how much this has affected the Barn Owl? I've been working nights now for around 8 months and in those 8 months I've seen more Barn Owls (around 12) than I've ever seen before,all of which have been either on the verges of or flying over the M4 (I've had to duck on a couple of occasions as they fly across very low) culminating in a brief sighting at 0335 today of an owl hovering in full street light not 6' off the ground and not 10 yards from the road(I just wish i could have stopped to watch).Also I would assume that these hunting birds are working by sight because motorways even in the small hours are not the quietest of places and I should Imagine that 44 tonnes of artic going by @ 56mph is deafening to the birds.Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
All the best
Pete :smoke:

Hi Pete and welcome to the Forums from all Moderators and Admin. staff.
I'm sure you'll get plenty of answers from more knowledgable people than me, but it's certainly an interesting thought.
Chris

Hi Pete, and welcome to the forum. the barn owl`s
eye sight is just as sensetive as its hearing, so the noise of thundering traffic will have little effect on its hunting skills. The secret of any of the owls good eyesight in the dark lies in the size
and construction of the eyes. thats the short
version anyway.
regards bert.