• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

equipment advice (1 Viewer)

I am just starting out on the DSLR bird photography route and would appreciate comments or any advice on the following possible equipment choices. I have shortlisted three possible options which fit into the monies available and put them into what I consider order of best option. I already own a decent tripod and head set up. Once again any advice would be appreciated.

1) Nikon D90 with Nikon 80-400mm F4.5-5.6 AF VR lens plus Kenko Pro 300 1.4 converter.

2) Nikon D90 with a Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM ( with image stab)

3) Nikon D90 with a Sigma 50-500mm F4-6.3 EX DG lens ( no image stab)

Could I offer a 4th choice such as the D90 and a 300/4 & 1.4tc or this slightly over budget? You may want to look at the D5000 as well and may save a few pounds.

My daughter has a D90 and its a very nice body and performs very well, I can't comment on the zooms though

Steve's right, don't go for those Sigma lenses or the 80-400. The former, and sorry all owners out there please don't shoot me for telling the truth isn't the best quality wise; only today I had a user write to me about that 50-500 saying that it wasn't that sharp. Sigma are great lenses for the price and great value for money BUT if you want quality and have the wedge for it then it has to be Nikon. But that 80-400 is an old VR and hunts a lot, very slow. Good quality though. Agree with Steve, with the D90 crop and a 3oomm lens and 1.4 you will have full framers if that is what you are after.