• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Feisol tripods? (1 Viewer)

HokkaidoStu

occasional moderator
Staff member
Supporter
Anyone know anything about tripods made by Feisol? They seem pretty interesting.

www.feisol.com

I've been putting off buying a decent tripod for the last 6 months and have decided now is the time to put my hand in my pocket.

Actually what are peoples' experiences of carbon-fibre tripods in general? Worth the extra cash? I can get the Manfrotto 190DB/RROB fairly cheaply in Japan.

I'll be using a Pentax PF65ED scope and doing the occasional bit of digiscoping with the Baader adaptor and a cheap Nikon compact. All told just under 2Kg.

Hi Stu, just noticed your post about Feisol. I ordered a CT-3402 direct from them about 6 months ago. Took a bit of a gamble with it as I'd read some favourable reviews on the internet before buying. What I would say is that I would probably go for the CT-3401(4 section but slightly longer sections, therefore taller) or CT-3301(3 section) if you want it for most of your general birding, or even go for one of their bigger models.

I think carbon is worth the extra, but it depends on how much you want to lug it around. I bought my Feisol for occasional use with a travel scope, and wanted to be able to pack it in a rucksack, but unless this is vital to you, a 3 section pod would make more sense because of the extra stiffness.