• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ID 3 Birds I Shoot in Manhattan,ny (1 Viewer)

anesti

the first is in Central Park at the Harlem Meer and the nex 2 are in the pond in Morningside park. Im thinking in the 2nd pic its a white crane, the third pic for some reason i think its an oriole but the grey one in the first pic baffles me. Im new at bird shooting,and now that i own a nikon d60 i hope to shoot more birds.

Attachments

• 127 [800x600].JPG
    127 [800x600].JPG
    157.6 KB · Views: 231
  • 042 [800x600].JPG
    042 [800x600].JPG
    222 KB · Views: 168
  • 103 [800x600].JPG
    103 [800x600].JPG
    157.5 KB · Views: 175
The first is an immature Yellow-crowned Night Heron. The all dark bill sets it apart from the Black-crowned, which would have yellow on the lower mandible.

Bird #1 is a year-old Yellow-crowned Night Heron on account of the all dark bill, longer neck, and tiny white spots.

Also black-crowned's bill would be more pointed? or is it the other way around. I forget which one has a more blunt bill.

I haven't seen this plumage of night-heron before, and only now do I notice it illustrated in National Geographic. This is not a juvenile, but a first summer bird. In their first year they apparently drop their spots and overall darkness and start to attain a ghost of an adult pattern (BCNH would be dark-winged, for example, but both species apparently get dark caps). I also don't think the strucutre rules out BCNH.