• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

DSLR + lense for wildlife photography beginner (1 Viewer)

Amarillo

Am a complete novice (previously only had automatic cameras) looking to get into wildlife photography as a hobby

What would you advise me to get with a budget of £1000 absolute max, preferably a bit less

am thinking:

Canon EOS 1000D + 18-55mm Kit £400
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM £420

or the Nikon equivalent

Does this sound sensible?

Any tips much appreciated!
Cheers

Personally I think you'll find a 300mm lens a bit short for most bird photography, I would recommend looking for a longer lens secondhand. Something like a Canon 400 f5.6 (~£750 s/h), or a 100-400 (also ~£750 s/h) or a cheaper option would be something like a Sigma 50-500 (~£450 s/h). the 1000D body is fine but it is quite limiting, you might do better to try and buy a better body secondhand.

Spend your money on a good lens as Pete says. The beginners I know prefer the zoom because they find it easier to find the birds at say 200mm and then zoom out onto them.

You could then try and pick up a second hand 30D for £250-£300 or spend another £100 and see if you can get a 40D.

This set up would see even the most ambitious beginners through for the first 18 months and beyond.

A second hand 40D body (around £450) and a second hand Sigma 50-500 (around £450) and a tripod.