• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon 8x32 SE vs. Nikon Venturer 8x32 LX - Please advise - Newbie (1 Viewer)

oathkeeper

Hello all.

I'm very new to this field of binoculars as well as to birding. Therefore, I need all the help I can get in choosing a good pair of binocs.

First of all I must say that IT IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO TEST BEFORE BUYING because of where I live.

Let me explain...

We (my wife and I) live in Sri Lanka (formerly CEYLON), a country (a 25,000 square-mile island) in the Indian Ocean approx. 26 miles South of India. Here, you do not get "high end" binoculars. The local sole agent for Nikon does not have anything more than the Action 12x50!!!

Therefore, this purchase is being made sight-unseen. We're basing our decision purely on the reviews and opinions of people such as yourselves. There is NO WAY we can actually try any of these out before buying it.

Our purchase will be made online and delivered to a relative living in the U.S., who will subsequently bring it to Sri Lanka. So, you see, ya'll will be our eyes and hands for testing this stuff. ;)

Having said that, I'd appreciate a few more points clarified.

Based many comments about the weight of the Nikon Venturer LX 8x42, and on tests to see what carrying around a 34oz weight is like, we came to the conclusion that we're NOT going to feel comfortable carrying around a weight like that all day on the field.

So, we have limited our choice to the following:
1) Nikon Venturer LX 8x32 NOTE: NOT 8x42
2) Nikon Superior E 8x32