• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice on scope requested (1 Viewer)

mattpau

I've been using a good old Bushnell Spacemaster scope for many, many years. Actually I'm on my third, the first two having been stolen at some point. I now feel ready for an upgrade and would be grateful for any advice.

I'm not particualrly big or strong, so feel that the new scope should be in the 60-65 mm range, rather than 80mm.

I've been looking at the Nikon Fieldscope III 60 mm with ED glass, available for US $729 from Eagle Optics. In one of the threads here at BF people mentioned the Zeiss 65mm, which is $919 at Eagle Optics - somewhat more expensive but still relatively affordable. I was wondering what people felt about these two models and how they compare. Thanks in advance for any advice.

I have the Zeiss 65mm Diascope with zoom 15x45 eyepiece and am very happy with it. The scope has excellent optics, and is quite a handy size. I recommend it.

Bill

I used my good old spacemaster for over 12 years. It survived falls and did it's job well. I also cursed the quality of view after using my Zeiss bins all day. So I'm thrilled with my new Swarovski scope. But now I'm terrified to leave it unguarded in the car for more than 7 seconds. It has to go everywhere with me, even into restraunts or washrooms. To answer your question though, I'd go for the Zeiss.

mattpau said:
I've been using a good old Bushnell Spacemaster scope for many, many years. Actually I'm on my third, the first two having been stolen at some point. I now feel ready for an upgrade and would be grateful for any advice.