• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Which are the best birding apps? (For iPad, US) (1 Viewer)

CC-Sparrowhawk

Hello - this is my first time submitting a new thread on this forum, so I hope I'm putting it in the right place.

I have an iPad, and I'd like to download some birding apps. However there are a lot - an awful lot - of birding apps out there to choose from - some free, some not. I'm having a hard time trying to decide which ones are the best. Right now I have the iBird Lite and Peterson Feeder Birds of North America apps. I'm a beginner to birding, so I'd also like one that is easy to use in that respect. I'm not against spending money on a birding app, as long as it's a good one, but I would like to know how efficient it is before I purchase it.

Any tips on what you'd consider the best birding app(s) for someone living in the US?

Peterson's Birds of North America and iBird are the two I have and I like them a lot!

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

For showing you images of birds and with sounds available for most, I like the Sibley guide I have on my ipad mini. There is an ebird app for entering observations and submitting them online to Ebird - if that is the one you have or one that needs a little money, I cannot say, because I have not (at least yet) gone that way.

Any other uses of a birding app you would like? maybe there is one out there

Niels