Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Friday 16th December 2005, 09:56   #1
joannec

Advice needed for organizing and classifying pictures

I am very new to digital photography and would like some advice about programmes for classifying and organizing my pictures. I have the HP Photo and Imaging programme which came with the printer and Zoom Browser which came with the Canon S2 IS camera. Do some of you have experience with either of these programmes and are they any good? I have heard there are some free viewing and album programmes available. Can anyone recommend any? Is it better to buy one of the album programmes and if so can anyone recommend any particular ones? I am currently experimenting with Serif Photo Plus for editing but it doesn't have an album with it. Would I be better off investing in Photoshop?

BF Supporter 2007 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 16th December 2005, 17:10   #2
IanF

I use ThumbsPlus for cataloguing my photos. You can add any number of folders and sub folders. It also has some good image manipulation tools as well as a good slide show feature.

It used to be a freebie with magazine CD's but by the looks of it, it's only free for a time limited period now.

Mine's TP4 but it's now up to version 7. If the TP+4 is anything to go by then it's well worth the money.

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 16th December 2005, 20:13   #3
RAH