• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Roland R-05 and Rode NTG2 (1 Viewer)

Mark Lew1s

My real name is Mark Lewis
Hi all,

I'm a complete novice with this sort of thing so please excuse me if I'm asking a stupid question!

I have a Roland R-05 recorder which I used to use with the CS-15S mic to record bird vocalisations. The mic broke however, and as it would have been costly to get it fixed, I decided to buy a new one. I was recommended the Rode NTG2.

Can anyone explain to me why the two units don't seem to be compatible? I can connect everything up together but the mic doesn't pick up any sound at all.

Help!

Thanks in advance,

Mark

Hoping that someone who has experience of these items will leap in, however, one or two things to be going on with.
The CS-15s is stereo microphone hardwired with a 3.5mm stereo jack.
The NTG2 is a more sensitive mic, but is mono with an XLR connection so you must have invested in a cable to connect it to your recorder. It is possible that this cable is faulty. Have you set the menu to Mono - this will not stop the microphone recording but will ensure it will record to both stereo channels.
The NTG2 requires a battery to operate in the absence of 48v phantom power from your recorder, is that battery functional and inserted correctly ? Have you set menu item 'plug in power' to off as I don't think you need it?
How did the previous mic break - did it just cease to record a sound similar to the situation you are in now, in which case you may have a recorder problem.