• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What kind of Junco? (1 Viewer)

Chuck A. Walla

This character has been showing up regularily of late. It seems to me to be quite differant from the grey-headed common at higher elevagtions.

bob

Attachments

• DSCN0057.jpg
    DSCN0057.jpg
    375.7 KB · Views: 296
could be an oregon subspecies or an adult female slate-colored subspecies.

I'm a Junco novice,but from a quick look at Sibley,I'd agree with gthang on the oregon form.
Now where exactly is Nevada....

Grousemore said:
I'm a Junco novice,but from a quick look at Sibley,I'd agree with gthang on the oregon form.
Now where exactly is Nevada....

Thanks.

BTB, Nevada is the big open space just east of California. :eat:

bob

what big open space, all i c are birds, birds and naked birds (for all you englanders).

There's nothing I see in the picture to suggest that is any different from the hundred or so Oregon-form Dark-eyed Juncos I saw today. I've grown up with those birds. Yours looks absolutely typical.

On the other hand, the last time I posted anything in these forums suggesting a bird was simply the ordinary form, I got into lots & lots of trouble, as everyone agreed it must surely be a hybrid; in that case, a very exotic duck hybridized with another assumed to be a scaup.

Therefore, having learned my lesson, I will say your bird is obviously an Oregon Junco x Lesser Scaup cross.

Once bitten, twice shy.

huh?! wouldn't that make an entirely new species of duck-billed juncos? Lesser Dark-eyed Scaup perhaps?

Chuck A. Walla said: