• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Can you ID this little white-eyed bird? (1 Viewer)

billybunter

Can anyone identify this little bird, please? Regrettably it was a cat kill. My cat must have found it somewhere in or near our garden in Kingston-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK in the early morning of 11 August 2003. I'm not a bird expert though I can recognise most common garden birds. But this one has me stumped. I've been all through two bird books and lots of websites trying to track it down, without success. It's about 11cms long and the most distinctive features are the circular white eye patches. The area between the eyes and above the beak is slightly more yellowy than the rest of its upper plumage, which is olive green. The wing tips and tail are black. The long, thin beak is like a flycatcher (?) but those prominent eye patches make me think it is maybe something more exotic - maybe an escaped cage bird?

Attachments

• copy of profile.jpg
    copy of profile.jpg
    33.5 KB · Views: 527
Hi BillyBunter,

This is a species of White-eye, I don't know which one. It must be an escaped cage bird because they are not native to Europe.

Hope your Postal order arrives.

Julian

It isn't a Japanese White-eye. Bill (or beak) is too long, 'way too much white around the eye, and not enough contrast between back and belly.

It is a white-eye of some sort though; did a google search, and found an African species of white-eye (Zosterops silvanus) that has even more white round the eye than this:
http://www.conbio.org/SCB/Services/Tips/images/v16n2Img0005s.jpg