• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leica Trinovid BN 8x32 (1 Viewer)

flipbird1940

flipbird1940
Years ago, when my dad was still alive, he bought me a Leica Trinovid BN 8x32. I can count the number of times I used it on the fingers of my two hands.

I'm not a birder, although we do visit Monte Vista, Colorado, about 45 minutes drive from our home to watch the bird migration in March, which attracts visitors from all over the country and is indeed spectacular. Oddly however, I never bring the binoculars. Guess I'm just not a binocular person, although I'm a visual artist.

One of the rare times I used these binoculars was several years ago when what appeared to be a great horned owl perched on a high branch of a tree about 200 feet from our living room, which is on the upper floor with great views. As I focused in on this magnificent bird, it took off and began flying in my direction. Even though I was inside our house, it was so overwhelming to watch the owl through the binoculars flying straight at me that I was actually afraid it would hit me! When it came within 25-30 feet of the window, it swerved suddenly and landed on our deck. Thanks to the Leica, I had an amazing detailed view of the very large great horned owl.