• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

2x Teleconverters (1 Viewer)

Jonny721

I'm looking for a 2x teleconverter for my Nikon D60 and Sigma 70-300mm APO but as I'm new to teleconverters I don't know what sort of make I will need. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Jonny Scragg

I'm not certain how the D60 handles AF but I'd be surprised if it even tried to focus with the TC connected. Your lens would become a 140-600 f8-f11 lens. Assuming you want the TC for the reach, you'd have to manually focus at f11, which would be really difficult even in very good light. As for image quality - well, you'd probably be better off shooting without the TC and enalrging the images in software.

So, the question isn't 'what make do you need', but 'do you need, or even want, one at all'. Perhapes somebody you know has one you could borrow? Or, if there's a shop nearby you could try it out. Because I'm of the opinion that you'll stick it on once, then never use it again.

Like Frank said, the lens is just too slow for a TC. I had the same problem for my Nikon AF-S 70-300mm. Sigma don't list their 1.4x or 2x as being compatible with the 70-300 APO, however, if you really need one, the Kenko Pro 1.4x will probably work, but again you would lose AF.

if your lens is not a fast one (has a large f value) don't waist your money on TC, save up for more and get a 400 or 500 prime lens. i am telling you that from personal experience.