• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Where do Scottish winter geese migrate from? (1 Viewer)

kas

With all the bird flu media coverage, I have noticed some people see migrating geese and say Here comes the bird flu.

I was under the impression that the geese that fly through Caithness (North coast of Scotland) migrate from Iceland.
But others (non birders) are saying NO, our geese migrate from Russia.
As I am no expert, could anybody advise me as to where our geese do migrate from.

I understand that different species migrate from different places. The main 2 species we get are Pink feet and Greylags.
We also get white fronted geese as well but they are of the Greenland race so I think that one explains itself although I could be wrong.
Have also seen a few flocks of Barnacle geese and have been told of a handfull of Bean geese and 2 Canada geese.

Any info would be very much appreciated because if the geese are from Iceland I can confidently say, no that isnt bird flu I'll have you know.

I cant comment on the subject of bird flu as I dont know much about it, but it is starting to get on my nerves the way some people think they do know about it. When they obviously dont have a clue.

Cheers Kas :t:

Last edited:
Hi Kas,