• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Homemade swing-out bracket for under £20 (1 Viewer)

john-henry

Looking at several threads lately regarding people wanting digiscoping adaptors, and the extortionate prices many firms are charging, here’s my homemade swing-out bracket that can be made for under £20 and only needs a few basic skills, mainly cutting, drilling and filing. Perhaps the only drawback is it’s made for angled scopes, but it could be adapted for straight scopes by lengthening the base-plate and using a straight swing-out arm on this.
I’ve been using it for over 3 years with Coolpix 995 and 4500 cameras and lately with a Canon A95, it works really well, a lot steadier than many commercial adaptors. Also with the A95’s adjustable monitor it can be used in a car, hide etc.

The camera can be swung away for focusing and returned for taking a picture in a couple of seconds, it has a cable release bracket and another small post with a ring fixed on top that acts as a sight, all you have to do is find the bird in the ‘sights’, and it will be in the scope, no need to take the camera off the scope or anything, ideal for birds on the move etc.

The only ‘refinement’ I use is a Lensmate 37mm adaptor, mainly to protect the zoom lens.

Cheers

John

Attachments

• digibracket1.jpg
    digibracket1.jpg
    71 KB · Views: 781
  • digibracket2.jpg
    digibracket2.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 767
  • digibracket3.jpg
    digibracket3.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 641
  • digibracket4.jpg
    digibracket4.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 688
  • digibracket5.jpg
    digibracket5.jpg
    81 KB · Views: 816