• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What do you carry your kit in? (1 Viewer)

beachlover

As a complete newbie to birdwatching, but looking at carrying shelter, scope, camera and food/drink etc; I wonder what you use to transport you kit conveniently and safely.
Thanks in advance and if this is in the wrong place, please move it to the right one!

I just use an ordinary backpack. Nothing fancy as it usually get changed every few years as I have a habit of rolling down mountain-sides (by mistake may I add!).

Personally I use a Lowepro backpack for my camera kit and all the other bits and bobs (lunch, hat, gloves and stuff). Have my bins round my neck and my scope (attached to tripod) over my shoulder, notebook in my pocket. That way everything is ready for easy use (except the camera - but then I never get really good views of birds/animals if you have your camera out and ready to use).

Hi there, IOW eh ...i often wonder what the birdlife is like there but never seem to hear or read much about it.

Anyhow, to answer you question ....mostly on my bike, either in panniers or strapped on the rack ... and when i get off i usually only have bino's round my neck & scope (if i've brought it) on a shoulder strap. But then i rarely walk very far so don't have a need to carry my dinner etc with me

Last edited: