• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Handheld digiscoping? (1 Viewer)

Jared

Hi there

I'm just about to take delivery on my first scope and was wondering if it possible to get decent record shots by simply holding a compact against the eyepiece without using any kind of bracket (the scope will obviously be on a tripod!)

I'm not expecting any great results, just something I can use to identify something I don't recognise immediately in the field (I'm fairly new to birdwatching so this is a fair few birds! ;))

If it is possible, what sort of compacts would suit. I've been looking at the Sony RX100 for a while, but am wondering if the high resolution will make things a bit more blurry?

Thanks in advance for any help :t:

Yeah you can do that and in fact that is how digiscoping got its beginnings...so try it.

As to what camera works best....depends on the scope and the lens. So just try a few as all will have issues in regards to that technique but all doable too.... best of luck and have fun, jim

Jared
No,No, not the RX-100, it has a large sensor. Small sensors,such as the LX-3 can have speeds as much as 100 times faster than a large full frame camera. That is because in digiscoping a fixed amount of light goes to the sensor, so, the smaller it is the brighter. Gene

This is from the little 120 gram FH-1. Do you need a better image? Click on the image to make it larger.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8304/7778422664_71b4cede51_b.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks for the advice guys :t:

I hadn't thought about the sensor size but that makes perfect sense.