• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How Should I carry my kit?! (1 Viewer)

AndyUK

Hi All,

I'm completely new to this, so would be really grateful for any advice you can offer!

I want to carry a simple birding kit out and about (scope, tripod, SLR camera) and can't make my mind up on what style to go for. Is there a "right" answer?

What does everyone else use?

Thanks!

Andy

Hi Andy,
A warm welcome to birdforum from all of us here.
'Simple birding kit'? Sounds like a lot of gear to me...at least you can double up on the tripod.
Is your question aimed at suggestions for luggage? Lowepro seems like a good idea to me. Personally, I use a Lens trekker 600AW with camera and lens inside and 'pod on one side and scope attached on the other.
Hopefully someone else can come back with a non-Lowepro suggestion...they do tend to dominate a bit ;)
Regards,
Andy

Hi Andy,

Welcome aboard!

There is no right or wrong answer. The main point to bear in mind is comfort. You'll soon know it if you carry a scope, tripod and SLR for any distance - especially over rough ground. Another point I always think important is noise. It wont do you much good if you're trying to 'stalk' a bird and your camera equipment is crashing against each other.

I carry a similar amount of equipment as you want to and use a Lowepro backpack similar to this --> http://www.lowepro.com/pages/series/trekking/oriontrk.htm