• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

swarovision EL 10x42 or EL 10x50 (1 Viewer)

Before you start reading any user reports you should think about how much weight you're prepared to carry. It's all too easy to forget about the weight issues when people start becoming lyrical about the outstanding optical qualities of binoculars. I suspect the 10x50's are slightly better, simply because of their larger objective lenses - but they're also heavier.

Hermann

I am not an expert, by any means,
but what do you gain with the 50mm binoculars over 42
to justify the extra cost and weight?
-better low light performance for birding
-better for astronomy
-other ?

edj

i am aiming of 1 of these binoculairs , opinions ? and user reports ?

I got the 12x and i haven't had them out my hands since!, it would be easy to wax lyrical about them but really there is no point, just go to your dealer and try them, if possible have them for a full day.
Got to say though the first thing i noticed was no rolling-ball, but this depends on the users eyes of course.

Good luck...B :)

I am not an expert, by any means,
but what do you gain with the 50mm binoculars over 42
to justify the extra cost and weight?
-better low light performance for birding
-better for astronomy
-other ?

Easier eye placement in the exit pupil (so nicer ease of use).

With the flat field/sharp edge to edge a larger exit pupil also makes it easier to "look around" the field. Easier than the 10x42, I suspect and similar to the 8.5x.