• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Black Phoebe nest (1 Viewer)

David Ellsworth

(This is a very long post. You may want to first read the synopsis at the end.)

Hello everybody! I'm new to BirdForum. In the last few months, I've developed a heightened awareness of birds... I've been paying close attention to their sounds and behavior, and to the variety of birds in my neighborhood. I've been taking digiscoped photos and videos, and since May 11th, HDV footage as well.

The more I learn, the more questions are raised in my mind.

By far, the highlight of this adventure was finding a Black Phoebe nest under my neighbor's eaves on May 22nd! Until then, I estimated my chances of seeing a bird's nest to be nil. I assumed they'd be too well hidden. But, the Black Phoebe's nest is in a clear line of sight from my backyard! (I also found a Black-chinned Hummingbird nest on the same day, but that's another story.)

The nest is perhaps unusual, because it is resting on a gutter pipe. Apparently, Black Phoebe nests are usually attached to a vertical surface... But in my searches I've only been able to find two actual photos of their nests in situ. Why is that?

I've only ever seen one Black Phoebe parent at a time tending the nest, and when I used notches in the tail feathers for comparison, they matched. So as far as I can tell there's only one parent tending the nest. Does this mean the other parent died? Could this be either the mother or the father? I'll be calling the parent the mother from henceforth, even though I'm not sure.