• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Best inexpensive spotting scope (1 Viewer)

antde

Hello all,

I am new to this board. I work as a Wildlife/Fisheries stockroom manager at university in California. I have been charged with scoping out (pun entirely intended) the best spotting scope for the dollar with a $500 max limit. We currently stock the Bushnell Spacemaster, a fine little scope for the money. It appears the Nikon Field and Sky might be a good choice to replace the Bushnell. Any reports on the Nikon (or any other comparable priced scope), especially as compares to the Bushnell would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much!

Hi antde and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

You might want to check out Eagle Optic's Raven scope. It was my very first scope and it was a lot of scope for the money.

antde said:
Hello all,

I am new to this board. I work as a Wildlife/Fisheries stockroom manager at university in California. I have been charged with scoping out (pun entirely intended) the best spotting scope for the dollar with a $500 max limit. We currently stock the Bushnell Spacemaster, a fine little scope for the money. It appears the Nikon Field and Sky might be a good choice to replace the Bushnell. Any reports on the Nikon (or any other comparable priced scope), especially as compares to the Bushnell would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much!

I agree, the Eagle Optics Raven is hard to beat at that price. My wife has one and it beats the Nikon she had before by leaps and bounds.

Jaeger near Chicago