• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

White-eyed Vireo or Mangrove Vireo (1 Viewer)

tomjenner

A couple of weeks ago I photographed a vireo on the coast of El Salvador that I thought was a Mangrove Vireo (Vireo pallens). I recently developed the photos and noticed that the bird looks much more like a White-eyed Vireo (Vireo griseus), a species not yet recorded in El Salvador (though a long overdue vagrant). I have very little experience with griseus (White-eyed Vireo) and I was hoping that some of you could give your views. I have outlined some of my thoughts below and included two photos of the bird and a photo of a known Mangrove Vireo, from Bahia de Jiquilisco in El Salvador, for comparison.

The distinctive pale whitish iris of the Jiboa bird is characteristic of griseus (White eyed Vireo). Stiles and Skutch describe the eye colour of pallens (Mangrove Vireo) as pale brown to yellow, whilst Land and Peterson and Chalif describe it as dark on the Pacific slope and whitish to light brown on the Caribbean slope. The Jiquilisco pallens (Mangrove Vireo) has a distinctly dark eye.