• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wedge Tail Eagles (1 Viewer)

ayashko

Hi all,

Nice to be here, looking forward to hearing/sharing our experiences.

The reason I've joined up, is that I need some help... I'm a paraglider pilot, who flies a few sites around AU, but mainly Victoria, and am wondering if there is anything that I (and we, other pilots as well) can do to dissuade Wedge tail eagles from attacking us during our flights?

This usually occurs during spring, through to mid-summer (ish), when they're quite territorial around their nesting sites (I think). Unfortunately, their territories are quite large, and we can be happily flying along, when out of nowhere there's the chilling sound of a wedgie screeching at you, and you frantically look around to find a huge (usually - the juveniles are quite often happy to fly with us and even do a bit of showing off) eagle with wings tucked in, claws outstretched, coming in for the kill.

Not a lot of fun...

Apart from the damage they cause our wings - most people get hit repeatedly, resulting in multiple tears in the wing - there's been a few hits on the actual pilot this year, which is really quite scary and dangerous.

Now, to head off any incorrect assumptions, I'd like to make clear that we all love the eagles - they are often our best indicator of thermals on cross country flights, and there is nothing better than spending time thermalling/gliding with a wedgie on the leading edge of the wing, about 20 feet away...