• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Beginners tips ? (1 Viewer)

Karl J

Hi George - As I'm a total beginner I have thousands of questions ! .... but I think the only one I can reasonably put at this time is : do you have any tips for beginners ?

I have a Canon eos 300 with EF 28-90 & 75-300 lenses.

So far i've stuck to things that catch my eye, things which I personally like : differing views of rivers, the sea on the rocks/ sand / shingle, flowers, local landscapes etc. I find it interesting how a completely different image can be made just by leaving certain things in or out.

But are there, for instance, certain subjects which are technically more or less challenging ? ..... Or are there perhaps certain subjects which foster a deeper understanding of photography in general ?

Thanks in advance ..... I'd be interested in your thoughts / comments.

I would say, without a shadow of doubt, the one thing that would improve any nature photographers pictures is simply a knowledge and understanding of the subject. When I first wanted to photograph adders, for instance, I read everything I could find about them. I went out to locations where they were and I would sit and watch their behaviour for hours on end, going back day after day and all the time learning more and more.