• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Carbon fibre tripod: any ideas? (1 Viewer)

gmax

Sontium Dweller
Just a few rambling thoughts ...
I have some experience with my good and reliable Manfrotto 055V, but I'd like to buy a carbon fibre tripod, to be used during longer walks. So many fine quality items on the market to choose among (I've been told: "Gitzo are the best CF tripods", "Manfrotto are not bad at all", "Why not looking at Giottos?", "What about Benros?"), but the minefield is too much for me.

Therefore I'll list a few requirements I deem most useful for me:

• structure: sturdy (should be fit also for - future - longer and heavier telephoto lenses); a built-in bubble-level would be a plus
  • leg sections: better 3 (I guess there's less vibration... correct?), I'm not concerned very much with short-collapsible tripods
  • weight: quite light (lighter than my alu tripod)
  • max height: eye level (I'm 1.80m) without centre column
  • min height: should allow me to shoot at ground level
  • centre column: NO, or removable (see above) EDIT: does Manfrotto produce tripods without centre column?
  • head: should fit a video head directly mounted on it (compatible with Manfrotto heads is asking too much? I'm on the verge of buying a 501 head)
  • price: hey, don't try to bankrupt me! ;)

Well, now you know ... I'd like to hear from your direct experiences about pros and cons
Thank you for taking the time to answer to this confusing question B :)
Cheers,
Max

Last edited:
gmax said:
Just a few rambling thoughts ...