• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice on a bird scope (1 Viewer)

harold9649

I am new to birding and have a mm2 mighty midget with an sdl zoom eyepiece but i now wish i had bought a bigger scope any suggestions as what to go for .Iam happy with opticron brand and i think the eyepiece will fit other opticron scopes .Iwould be willing to spend about £400 pounds.But not sure if i should stay with opticron or go foe say Nikon.My binos are nikon and very happy with them.
Harold

Evening Harold

I bought a second hand ES80 and have used it all through the winter and its been exelent. A nice bright sharp image even on poor days. It has no stay on case and gets carted about in all weathers on the back of a motor bike. Although it gets some soakings its proved nice, reliable and water proof. I am very happy with it. Its a bit heavy compared to the MM. Will you need a new tripod if you up grade?
Try before you buy if you can.
Daf.

My SDL eyepiece doesn't fit the second-hand MM2 I recently bought (which has it's own dedicated zoom but also accepts my fixed 32XW HDL Opticron lens, albeit rteduced to 18X), but it's been excellent on my ES80 GA ED. You've already got an excellent £200 lens in the SDL, so I'd save the money and stick with Opticron if I were you.

As others have already said just get the ES80ED body as you already have an eyepiece. I used to have an ES80 & it was excellent for the money. The SDL zoom needs an adaptor, (free from Opticron), to be used on the MM2.

Cheers,

John.

John
Can i ask you if you think the diffrence between the ES and ES ED is particularly noticable.?