• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Southern Africa's Birds (1 Viewer)

Dave Kennedy

Hello to everybody! South Africa here! My name is Dave Kennedy, and I have been birding for around 35 years. Southern Africa has a bird list of over 900 species, so if anybody fancies a visit and has any questions, I will do my best to answer.

Think about South Africa's Highveld, Lowveld and Afromontane forests! An enormous coastline for seabirds! Namibia's deserts, Botswana's Okavango Delta and Kalahari! Zimbabwe's Zambezi River and the Eastern Highlands!

So many habitats, so little time.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Dave Kennedy

Hi Dave,
A warm welcome to you. Next year we are coming to Botswana, Zambia, Namibia and then a week at the Cape and really looking forward to it.
regards
Merlin

Hello, Merlin,

Nice to hear from you. You do not say whether you have visited Southern Africa previously, nor whether birding is the main focus of the trip. The period from October to March is usually very good for birds, since all the migrants are here and everybody is in breeding plumage. The downside is that this is the hottest, and sometimes the wettest, period of the year, especially from October through January. It can rain any time in the Cape!

If you have any queries about your trip, feel free to ask. In the meantime, try this site.....once you have figured out its navigation you will be able to determine which species you can expect to find where.

http://www.birds.sanbi.org/birp/birp_frameset_parent.htm

Best wishes,

Dave Kennedy