• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sony Alpha? (1 Viewer)

PAULBOY

United Kingdom
I am new to bird photography and am looking for a DSLR. I have been recommended to go for a Sony Alpha with a 17-200 lens. I also looked at the Canon EOS 40D and the Nikon D40- but the Sony is the only one with IS built into the camera. This should mean that any lens I buy in the future will be less expensive.

Any views on the Sony - and is a 200 max lens good enough for general birding photography?

Any views welcomed.

Thanks

I'm seriously looking at this camera also. It was recently 'slated' for the sensor cleaning - basically the writer said it just doesn't work.
As regards the lense-200mm is just not long enough for birds. From my little experience I think 400mm is the minimum. After this you have to decide will it be hand held or tripod. There are all sorts of other factors-do you want to sit in a hide or walk around with it-some of the longer lenses are really big & heavy.

I'll start by saying that i do not know alot about the alpha, however here is a n article on sensor dust removal Dust Removal the general synopsis being none of them are brilliant, olympus does work to some extent, canon and sony show marginal effectiveness at best.

Again i would echo the fact that a 200mm lens is going to be no where near long enough for birding.

Rog

As regards "noise"-apparently the Alpha shows some noise when the ISO is set at more than 400. Now, I am new to digital but when using film I don't think I ever used more than 400 ISO. Is high ISO used much ?