• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Making the most of a small space (1 Viewer)

NGG1984

Hello all! I'm pretty new to bird feeding and looking for some suggestions on the best ways to get a better variety of birds to my feeders. I live in a second floor apartment and have a small covered balcony (probably ~5'x9') that I've been hanging the feeders from. There are a few big trees nearby, and I have fushias and bright red begonias on the table and plant stands near the feeders. I'm also looking into getting a deck-mounted birdbath, but other than that, I think I'm pretty limited in ways to attract birds other than the feeders themselves. Last year I just had a hummingbird feeder and got regular visitors. This year I put out a thistle feeder, the hummingbird feeder, and a hopper feeder with 2 suet cages on the side. I get goldfinches all day at the thistle feeder, so I definitely want to keep that just how it is. Since I'm on a second floor and am not even supposed to have bird feeders, I'm using a no-waste blend (Tidy Treat from Wild Birds Unlimited) for the hopper feeder and get mostly house finches and some different sparrows. No squirrels and a rare cowbird when I was still using a cheaper blend, but otherwise no nuisance birds/animals. I had a few chunks nibbled out of the previous suet but never saw what did it, and just changed them to a no-melt mealworm cake, and bark butter (I'm hoping for woodpeckers!). Two days in, and nothing seems to have eaten from them. I see a hummingbird maybe 1-2x a day, but she doesn't seem to drink anything - just hover near the feeder. It's about 5