• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

simple and light digiscoping kit, advice please (1 Viewer)

Newton Stringer

Hi all :hi:

I'm a newbie and looking for your expert digiscoping advice please.....

I am looking to buy some kit for digiscoping. I don't want to get bogged down with technology and heavy kit, so I am looking for a small compact type digital camera and mount to fit my leica apo 62 scope.

Trouble is there's so many cameras and adaptors and I don't know where to start.... I've got a mate who sold on his old coolpix and replaced it with a contax u4r, he raves about this camera and says it works really well, but they're no longer available....

So what I need is a compact camera and mount, which is simple to use.... I'd like it to be capable of taking at least a couple or three shots per second without frustrating shutter lag (that my mates old coolpix had). Maybe a remote control for taking shots is needed too to prevent camera shake too ??

I'm guessing the ability to make some adjustments is good, but I don't want something with a million settings to confuse me !! I also want to use the camera for pics of birds in the hand when I'm ringing so a macro setting is required (do they all have this anyway ?).

Has anyone got a leica 62 with a compact digiscoping set up that works really well ? Any advice or recommendations would be very welcome,

Thanks

G

thanks... are Leicas are pretty pricey ? Don't really want to spend more than £250 on a decent set up.... is this realistic ?