• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Extreme digiscoping at 150 magnification. Best settings Fuji F31? (1 Viewer)

Bourouba

I want to take photographs of peregrine falcons that are living up on a cliff near my home in Quebec Canada. The distance between my scope and the birds is about 800 meters. I do not expect great sharp pictures from such a distance but would like to do the best possible. I am very new to digiscoping and tried my equipment yesterday with the falcons. It was a sunny day with moderate winds. Below is the best picture I was able to shoot under these circumstances. What kind of settings would you think are best for extreme disgiscoping like this. My camera is a Fuji F31 and my scope is the Swarovski AT80 with the 20-60 zoom eye piece. I have an adapter made by a local person. I am not happy with it but it is steady and does the job.

I wonder if the ISO is important in this situation. What about aperture and speed? Macro focus or not? Etc. All ideas will be appreciated and tested.

Thanks

Bourouba

Attachments

• f25mar07-1.jpg
    f25mar07-1.jpg
    285.1 KB · Views: 359
Bourouba,

That's not a bad picture given the distances you speak about. My advice would be to set the camera on self-timer (2-seconds) and shoot Continuous (Top-three). Set your camera to A/S (Aperture mode) at ISO's in the 200-800 range. Photograph only on sunny days, and consider using your Movie Mode for recording. I set my F30 up and have gotten surprisingly good videos from distances better than 150 yards.
This is a Snowy Owl from better than 150yds on an overcast, windy day: