• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Emerald Toucanet complex (1 Viewer)

ntbirdman

Puebla-Olivares et al. have a new paper on the systematics of the Emerald Toucanet (Aulacorhynchus prasinus) complex in the Auk. I wrote up an exhaustive summary of there results, and those of the previous work on the group, Navarro-Siguenza et al. 2001 (here):

http://slybird.blogspot.com/2008/05/how-many-toucanets-part-1.html
http://slybird.blogspot.com/2008/05/how-many-toucanets-part-2.html

I'd appreciate comments on my write-up, as I have little direct experience with the group. In particular, though, is there anything anyone can add on the status of albivitta in Ecuador? As I point out, Puebla-Olivares et al. (2008) appear to sample albivitta in Ecuador and their phylogeny has them mixed in with the blue and black-throated toucanets of the southern Andes clades, and not the other white-throated albivitta populations in Colombia. This is a very strange result that they do not discuss in the paper.

Cheers,
Nick

In particular, though, is there anything anyone can add on the status of albivitta in Ecuador? As I point out, Puebla-Olivares et al. (2008) appear to sample albivitta in Ecuador and their phylogeny has them mixed in with the blue and black-throated toucanets of the southern Andes clades, and not the other white-throated albivitta populations in Colombia. This is a very strange result that they do not discuss in the paper.