Welcome, Guest.
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER


Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Friday 9th January 2009, 02:22   #1
Santi
Registered User
 
Santi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Thailand
Posts: 38
Question Is this a genuine Minox?

8-25 power seems nice for the size.
The logo looks weird to me, but I'm new to binos, maybe it's an old logo?

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5550/realminoxtg8.jpg

Does Minox has this model?
Or is it a fake?

Thanks!

Santi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 9th January 2009, 07:24   #2
ceasar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,475
I suggest, quite seriously, that it really doesn't matter if this particular binocular is genuine. With an 8x to 25x Zoom and 25mm objective lenses it will be very dim and have a very narrow Field of View. It is not very practical or useful. You will be much better off getting a straight 8 x 25 compact binocular. Zoom binoculars have earned their poor reputations.
Cordially,
Bob
ceasar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:23   #3
davem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 252
This is a fake / passing off / etc whatever you want to call it and totally illegal.

As Caesar says, the optical quality from whoever made a compact bino would probably be poor with those specifications.

If ever you're in doubt about a model's authenticity, the manufacturer / brand's own website will have the current models on there for comparison.

HTH

Dave.
__________________
Dave Morgan
Newpro UK website
davem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:33   #4
Kevin Purcell
Registered User
 
Kevin Purcell's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by davem View Post
If ever you're in doubt about a model's authenticity, the manufacturer / brand's own website will have the current models on there for comparison.
But they don't keep older models ... which is a bit of a shame. Even Minox doesn't keep the recently discontinued but still widely availible bins. Adding the confusion recently over the BD and BD Asph, for example. So using the web site to distinguish between fakes and non-fakes is not so helpful ("Oh, yeah. It's not a current Minox model. From a couple of years ago", says the hypothetical seller.).

But I suspect a lot of bin makers don't have a great sense of history even the ones that have a great history. That's left to the amateurs.
Kevin Purcell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:54   #5
Veracocha
Registered User
 
Veracocha's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 140
I too have seen these (exact pair) on a well known auction site. I can see no reason to suspect fake.
Veracocha is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 11th January 2009, 21:36   #6
davem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 252
If you do ever suspect a fake (and there are LOTS out there, usually eminating from Gran Canaria with that logo in italics, and not like the straight edged Minox logo always has been) then drop info@minox.com an email along with a photo if you have one.

Admittedly, they do not keep every bino model details on the site but a quick search of their site does give bino details going back well over 8 years such as the 10x20 CP opera glasses.

Contrary to this they do seem to keep details of every digital camera they have ever put their name on for some unknown reason - I'll see if they would be interested in changing this around!
davem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 14th January 2009, 03:34   #7
Santi
Registered User
 
Santi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Thailand
Posts: 38
Thanks a lot. :)
Santi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 14th January 2009, 03:34   #8
Santi
Registered User
 
Santi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Thailand
Posts: 38
Thanks a lot. :)
Santi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood Duck...North Sea - Escapee or Genuine tystie Bird Identification Q&A 9 Friday 8th April 2005 22:02
Genuine Fractals 2 Saphire Photoshop, Paintshop and Printing 3 Wednesday 23rd March 2005 01:56
Wanted: Photo of genuine ED78 stay-on case wilder Nikon 6 Monday 28th February 2005 21:10
digi photo made easy -genuine fractals christineredgate Photoshop, Paintshop and Printing 16 Sunday 17th August 2003 23:07

{googleads}
Search the net with ask.com
Help support BirdForum
Ask.com and get

Page generated in 8.18300104 seconds with 18 queries
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:45.