Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Sunday 27th September 2009, 19:25   #1
ejfriis

When to start feeding finches in NC?

This is my first year feeding. We put out an 8" tube feeder in the beginning of the summer filled with wild bird seed, and it needs to be refilled every other day.

Last weekend I put out a thistle seed sock feeder in another part of the yard in hopes to attract finches. I have yet to see a single bird feed from the sock.

What is the best time/season to start feeding finches in North Carolina? I would like to try a different seed (nyger/sunflower), and definitely a different feeder (we find the "sock" to be very unsightly). I'd rather not purchase the more expensive seed/feeder until it is the right season to attract finches.
Old Sunday 27th September 2009, 19:40   #2
The Falcon
Registered Birder

Hi ejfriis, and welcome to birdforum.

I would suggest you should start feeding the birds in early or middle November.

http://www.birdwatching.com/tips/birdfeedingwinter.html
2014 Year List: #225 Clay-colored Sparrow
2014 Yard List: #138 Black-crowned Night Heron | 2014 Latest June Yard List: #62 Barred Owl
BF Supporter 2011 2012
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Sunday 27th September 2009, 19:53   #3
KCFoggin
Super Moderator

Hello there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum

Well here in Myrtle Beach, I put my thistle socks out the last week in Oct. Have been pleasantly surprised quite a few times.

Karma - What you send out
Comes right back at ya
BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Sunday 27th September 2009, 22:43   #4
ejfriis