Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Wednesday 9th June 2004, 09:54   #1
RockyRacoon

Smile tips for heath birds

I'm not new to birding, but need tips on how to watch the following at heaths: Dartford warbler, Woodlark, Tree pipit, Woodcock and Nightjar.

Its just that I rarely bird watch on heaths, I usually look for lizards and snakes...

Old Wednesday 9th June 2004, 10:12   #2
robinm
Super Moderator

I'm no real expert but I'll put in my view.

The best thing with all of these is to identify their call/song. Once you know these it will be easier to locate the birds and see them.

Woodcock and nightjar are best at dusk.

Woodcock male fly around looking for females (roding). They have a call which is a sort of low grunt followed by squeaking. Once you have identified where they are flying they are much easier to see because they fly virtually the same circuit time and again.

Nightjar male produce the unmistakeable churring. If you approach near to one they will sometimes fly round you and perform their wing flapping display. The males have very noticeable white wing spots.

All of these birds require patience!

Man of Kent
BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Wednesday 9th June 2004, 10:32   #3
tom mckinney

Get up nice and early for Dartford Warbler and check out any song that sounds vaguely "scratchy". Their call is a distinctive "scolding" sound, something like "chrrrrrrr." It's a good time of year to see them as they are quite active at the moment.

Woodlark can usually be located quite easily if you know the call - get hold of a recording or have a search on-line.