Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Saturday 18th November 2006, 11:26   #1
Jaeger01
Registered User
 
Jaeger01's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northeast Illinois
Posts: 209
Beware - travellingbirder.com

I logged into the forums yesterday morning and picked up a "Trojan" called virusburster.exe. What a mess and the effort it took to clean it up. Just be very careful and "spyware/adware" programs are as necessary as anti-virus programs are.

Jaeger near Chicago



Last edited by Jaeger01 : Sunday 19th November 2006 at 09:48.
Jaeger01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 18th November 2006, 11:38   #2
cuckooroller
Registered User
 
cuckooroller's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Amelia, Italy
Posts: 4,906
Jaeger, where exactly (and I mean to describe where to your recollection - do not go back to the site)? The site owner should be advised of this as the site is a very good site and much used by many world birders.
__________________
________________
Steve Pryor
Oriental Bird Club
Neotropical Bird Club
cuckooroller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 18th November 2006, 12:13   #3
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,884
Hi Jaeger,

I take it you meant to visit www.travellingbirder.com?

That seems to work fine - the mis-spelt site is a front for malware distribution.

Cheers,

Andy.
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote
BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Saturday 18th November 2006, 12:24   #4
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,884
Just visited the forums at www.travellingbirder.com, there are some spammers using it - DON'T click on any links there unless you are sure of where it goes. If you do click a link and a download is offered, hit the Esc. key - these 'codec' downloads are Trojans.

I'm sure that these posts will be deleted, maybe it's time the site updated its joining methods to slow down the bots?
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote
BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Saturday 18th November 2006, 13:15   #5
Jaeger01
Registered User
 
Jaeger01's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northeast Illinois
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Rowlands
Hi Jaeger,

I take it you meant to visit www.travellingbirder.com?

That seems to work fine - the mis-spelt site is a front for malware distribution.

Cheers,

Andy.
Actually the mis-spelling was in my post. I visited the forums and that's where I picked up the trojan. I did drop an email to the owners.

Jaeger
Jaeger01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 19th November 2006, 15:58   #6
Andrew Rowlands
Registered User
 
Andrew Rowlands's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wales.
Posts: 5,884
Jaeger and everyone else who may be tempted into clicking links - please Bookmark and use LinkScanner http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/ to test the link. It will be of some help under similar circumstances but don't completely rely on it, nothing is foolproof!
Andrew Rowlands is offline  
Reply With Quote
BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Sunday 19th November 2006, 20:34   #7
ehrodz
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brownsville, TX
Posts: 406
Don't updated antivirus and or spyware/adware programs keep trojans from invading one's computer?
ehrodz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 19th November 2006, 21:24   #8
Jaeger01
Registered User
 
Jaeger01's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northeast Illinois
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehrodz
Don't updated antivirus and or spyware/adware programs keep trojans from invading one's computer?
Not necessarily as I found out. I was running ZoneLabs firewall, spyware/adware and anti-virus and I still got it. I switched to Computer Associates EZTrust anti-virus and StopZilla spyware/adware blocker, cleaned it up and asked ZoneLabs for a refund which they granted.

Jaeger near Chicago
Jaeger01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 19th November 2006, 21:25   #9
deborah4
Registered User
 
deborah4's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sussex
Posts: 6,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Rowlands
Jaeger and everyone else who may be tempted into clicking links - please Bookmark and use LinkScanner http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/ to test the link. It will be of some help under similar circumstances but don't completely rely on it, nothing is foolproof!
Thanks Andy

Bookmarked as suggested and will keep page open when online to cut and paste url links and scan before opening
deborah4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
BF Supporter 2007
Click here to Support BirdForum
Old Sunday 19th November 2006, 21:31   #10
Stewart J.
Registered User
 
Stewart J.'s Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southwest Northumberland UK
Posts: 4,306
Thanks for that Andy, bookmarked it

Stewart
Stewart J. is offline  
Reply With Quote
BF Supporter 2005 2007 2010
Click here to Support BirdForum
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wasp's beware sphinx Butterflies and Moths 3 Wednesday 23rd August 2006 21:17
BEWARE! Weaver Fish on beaches SE England deborah4 Mammals & Sea Life 21 Friday 28th July 2006 20:39
Beware of the latest virus. Bubbs Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 8 Friday 6th May 2005 17:14
beware of photography scam nigelblake Birds & Birding 7 Wednesday 27th October 2004 12:37
Cley Spy burgled - buyers beware Doug Birds & Birding 3 Friday 3rd October 2003 10:12

{googleads}
Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Search the net with ask.com
Help support BirdForum
Ask.com and get

Page generated in 0.19351912 seconds with 19 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:35.