• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice welcomed (2 Viewers)

Hi Everyone Alex here. Im very new to birding having only been out once by myself (no. i dont normally have a carer) and managing to leave behind half of what i was hoping to take. Having said that i still had a great day out and saw some interesting things even managing to get a few pictures despite not having suitable equipment for wildlife photography.:rolleyes:
Im looking for advice on what would be a good starting point for someone like me. On my trip last week i was lucky enough to be able to borrow a high end pair of Zeiss binoculars (exact model escapes me sorry). They were really good, clear and bright but pretty much at the top of their range at over £2000. As a photographer for many years (landscapes and portraits) i do appreciate the value of top class optics however my dilemma is whether or not i should invest such a large sum of money at this stage of should i go for something a little more modest and spend the rest on beer? (just kidding i have a separate budget for beer).
Admin said i should state what kind of birding im interested in. I guess its a bit wooly but woodland/marsh and moorland and some local lakes is where i normally go with my dogs so thats where i'll probably go (without the dogs). I could at a pinch go for a top end pair but im wondering at this stage if thats the right thing to do or should i go for something a little more budget friendly. Another friend said that maybe i should consider a cheaper pair and a spotting scope?
All advice welcome and thank you in advance for your help.