• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digibinning with Olympus SP-800 UZ (1 Viewer)

NhazUl

Hi there. I'm relatively new to birding and especially bird photography. I haven't bought a professional camera due to lack of time for regular shooting (2-3 times per month is not worth it) so I have an Olympus SP-800 UZ. It performs fairly well when the lighting is enough and the bird is close (3-6 meters), but otherwise it greatly decreases the quality of the picture. So I had a thought about digibinning, since I have an old pair of binoculars with one prism dislocated, e. g. no longer usable. The binoculars (JL Breaker 7x50) can be attached to a tripod.

However, due to the wide lens of the Olympus attaching it to the binoculars would be quite the problem. Fortunately, it has an option to macro at focus length of 1 cm, giving an image of its maximum resolution (14 megapixels at 50 ISO, while when I use the 30x optical zoom, the res drops to 8 megapixels and also the ISO is set automatically, most oftenly to 200 at bright sunlight). So I think it would be an improvement, provided I can effectively attach the camera. However, I doubt that such an adapter exists in the first place. So most probably I'll have to construct one. I will need any tips and advices you have to offer. Thanks in advance.

P.S. Hmm, I made a test with the binoculars. I used the camera of my cell phone, without any kind of adapters. It's a weak 1.2 megapixel (1280 x 960) camera. The object was at ~30 m distance. So, what do you think, would the quality be enough if I attached the Olympus instead? Should I proceed?