• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ID bird in Minnesota USA (1 Viewer)

Pearson200

United States
I've been feeding birds for only a few years. This one (image attached) is new to my yard--- it is interested in the suet! Can you help id it? Thank you.
About 40 miles south of Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Bird.jpg

Hi Pearson and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.

You have a Common Starling (or European Starling I think you refer to them as). This is a juvenile and, yes, they love the suet LOL

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news.

Yup, an immature Starling.

Hi there and a warm welcome to you . (y)
We're glad you found us and please join in wherever you like ;)

Thank you!! I noticed the starlings but they are black, so wasn't expecting this brown one to be a starling also. The older ones are having trouble getting to the suet (it's in a caged enclosure)!

When the juveniles get a bit older, do they retain their brown heads but start getting black bodies?

Sort of - it's not uncommon for the head to be the last part to get adult plumage, but the new adult plumage is more speckled than black, as you can see here:
immature starling (molting)

Those big white spots wear away over time. Adult starlings get less spotty over a few months, until they molt again.

If you're seeing a black bird with a brown head, it's probably a brown-headed cowbird. These have much thicker bills than starlings, and longer tails.
Brown-headed Cowbird - BirdForum Opus