• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Need help making first digiscoping purchase (1 Viewer)

jlacasci

United States
I'm an experienced photographer going to visit Yellowstone. I know my Canon Mark iii with 400mm and 1.4 teleconverter won't have the reach I want. I will be purchasing a Kowa TSN 883 88mm with their 25-60 eye piece. Tripod will be Manfrotto MT190CXPRO4 carbon. Head is MVH500AH fluid head flat base. I'm also getting Kowa TSN-PA7 and T-mount ring for my EOS 1d Mark iii. Finally my questions, would you change the tripod or head? If so to what? My phone is a Samaung Galaxy S21 Ultra, no one has a holder to digiscope before I leave in July. What would you suggest for my phone, or should I just stick with the camera. I'm also getting the long plate for the head to help with balance 500plong video plate. What am I missing? Thanks, Joe

personally, i'd change it depending on what you want to photograph. if you want the better quality, headpiece. if you want more photos or many other things, tripod. it's all up to you!

Thank you for the reply. My specialty has been sports photography, so hand holding a Mark iii with a 24-70 or a 2nd Mark iii with 400 mm on a Gitzo monopod. I've never had to deal with the stability concerns of digiscoping. I've read that the head I selected is a good choice. What tripod would you suggest? Also, should I even worry about a universal adapter for my phone? Thanks.