• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon Monarch M7 vs Oberwerk, have been hearing so many opinions (1 Viewer)

I'm a newbie to using quality binoculars for bird watching (been using old toy-like things!) I've already asked on CloudyNights so wanted to see if any bird watchers here had any opinions. I did a search on this forum as well but was still wondering. I do have some experience with Oberwerk - I like stargazing and astronomy so I do have the Oberwerk BT-100 binocular telescope and it is superb!

How would you compare the Nikon M7 8x42 vs the Oberwerk Sport HD II 8x42? I think the M7 has a higher FOV but what about the rest, clarity and quality? The recommendations I've received is that the Oberwerk will match the quality of the M7 for half the price. Some even kept bringing up the made in China of the M7 vs the made in Japan of the Nikon HG.

This binocular would be doing the double-duty of low light bird watching and stargazing. I'm kind of leaning towards the Nikon M7 for now, but it's always nice to have extra money for the next gadget. Thanks for suggestions/comments.

I'm a newbie to using quality binoculars for bird watching (been using old toy-like things!) I've already asked on CloudyNights so wanted to see if any bird watchers here had any opinions. I did a search on this forum as well but was still wondering. I do have some experience with Oberwerk - I like stargazing and astronomy so I do have the Oberwerk BT-100 binocular telescope and it is superb!