• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Samyang lenses? (1 Viewer)

dwatsonbirder

Hello,

Does anybody have any knowledge of Samyang lenses? I have found a 500mm f8.0 on ebay for a stupidly low price (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SAMYANG-5...=UK_Lenses_Filters_Lenses&hash=item2a049acf5b) and wondered if anybody would have either information on this lens, or could recommend whether this would be a decent cheap lens to use purely for record shots? Im hoping to have an EOS 300d by the end of the week.

Many thanks.

P.S. I should point out that I am an absolute beginner, having only limted experience with dslr's and some digiscoping experience.

Daniel

Its a mirror lens and will be manual focus and may well be very difficult to get good results from. I would advise you against buying it. There is a good chance that you will at least be able to find either a Sigma or a Tamron 70 to 300 zoom lens for around £100, whist they are not really long enough for birding you should at least be able to get some record shots.

I do have a Minolta mirror lens which is af, and it can be hit and miss with this lens.

Last edited:
Totaly agree with the above, I stupidly bought a samyang 800mmf8 when first started it now has a place in the wardrobe where it will remain