• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Saxicola species from Andamans, India (1 Viewer)

Dhyey13

India
Got this  Saxicola sp. at South Andaman, India. The default species here would be Amur ( stejnegeri). I'm still learning how to differentiate the taxa of this genus. Would love to hear opinions on this bird!

All pics of the same bird which was roaming around. Found on 1st Jan 2023.

Thanks!
Dhyey

Attachments

• DSC_1167.jpg
    DSC_1167.jpg
    336.6 KB · Views: 17
  • DSC_1151.jpg
    DSC_1151.jpg
    288 KB · Views: 17
  • DSC_1169.jpg
    DSC_1169.jpg
    331.1 KB · Views: 19
  • DSC_1174.jpg
    DSC_1174.jpg
    340.9 KB · Views: 19
  • DSC_0573.jpg
    DSC_0573.jpg
    476.3 KB · Views: 20
Revisited the area and got 2 better shots.
Hope they help!

Dhyey

Attachments

• DSC_1205.jpg
    DSC_1205.jpg
    403.7 KB · Views: 7
  • DSC_1185.jpg
    DSC_1185.jpg
    338.3 KB · Views: 7
Hi. Separating Stejneger's and Siberian Stonechat is one of the challenges in modern birding, oddly especially adult males. The features by which you might be able to do it are not especially well shown on your images.