• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Comparing bird calls (1 Viewer)

Phdstudent

Hi everyone

I'm a PhD student working on surveying bird populations in broadleaved woodlands. The method that I use involves recording distances to birds heard from points within the woodlands. Using a computer program I can then establish how quickly the surveyors ability to detect birds declines over distance and use this to estimate population density.

This method works well for more common species but for rarer species you don't get enough detections. To get around this you can establish groups of birds with similar levels of "detectability" (assuming no habitat or surveyor effects) and use this to get estimates.

I'm interested in using bioacoustic analysis to compare call intensity and pitch in 40 different species that were recorded in my survey in order to help cluster them into suitable groups.

One of the problems is getting a good reference set of calls to work from, that are recorded under similar conditions so that they can be compared.

I'm interested whether any of you might have any thoughts on this, or any suggestions of ways to compare bird "detectability".

Many thanks