• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

using other scope brand eyepieces (1 Viewer)

HokkaidoStu

occasional moderator
Staff member
Supporter
Apologies if this sounds like a dumb question but........

I just got a cheap second scope, the Vixen Geoma 52-S ( which is exactly the same as the Opticron MM2 ) and was a touch disappointed with the 25 eyepiece ( mind you I couldn't complain about the price-less than 100 quid for body/eyepiece/grippa case ).

I have an old Bushnell Spacemaster ( kindly given to me by another BF member ) and tried the Bushnell 22W eyepiece in and it fitted and worked ( though another Bushnell piece didn't ). I guess it was about 15 on the compact but was much clearer then the dedicated eyepiece. Anyway to get to the point-how interchangeable are eyepieces across different brands? I'd like to get a better eyepiece for my compact but the Opticron HR/HDF ones seem ludicrously expensive compared to the cost of the scope ( especially when you factor in postage from the UK ).

Vixen have some here in Japan but none seem especially good eye relief-wise. Do Kowa ( for example ) eyepieces work with other scopes?

Stu

I did have a search around when I read your original post, but I cannot find anything to help you.
I would have thought I you identify an eyepiece, that there would be an adaptor available somewhere to make it fit?.

Good luck with your search!

stuprice68 said: